Tire Inflation Pressure

beeker

Jun 27, 2003
I am new to biking so this may be a little basic but here we go anyway.

When I started out, my biking buddy told me to run my tubulars at about 100-110 psi, but now that he has gone back to Nepal and I am on my own, I looked at the Continental Sprinters I am running an noticed that they have a maximum of 170 psi. I noticed a couple of posts that have people running up in the 180-190 range.

Since I am running about 205 lbs, my thought is that more psi is better - lower rolling resistance.

So, should I crank those babies up to 170 or just leave them down in the 110 range. Anyone with the time to give a primer on tire pressures? Thanks in advance.

Beeker

I don't know if there are a different set of recommendations for tubular tyres, but 170+ psi strikes me as a crazily high pressure. Maybe if you were on a time trial or something where every millisecond counts .. ? But it would be seriously uncomfortable.

Many moons ago I found this graph of recommended tyre pressures for different weights and sizes.. anyone care to comment on its validity?

The 170 psi listed on the tire sidewall is not the recommended pressure, it just lets you know what the maximum pressure is. Racers like to pump tires up to there maximum to get the most efficiency and thus speed. But recreational riders are better off using a lower psi for better comfort because the lower pressure tire acts like a shock absorber.

I was recently running 125 psi and was told by some tire dealers that was even a little too high. I now run about 105 psi. I weigh 170 lbs. and my bike is 20 lbs, so according to the chart posted previously, I should be running 97.5 psi. I'd say the chart is pretty close, but of course this is really a subjective opinion since it comes down to a trade off of comfort for efficiency.

slug