tire pressure

Status
Not open for further replies.
L

Lhoffman

I'm new at cycling, I've never tried riding regularly, but I thought I might give it a shot this
season to see if it's something I want to
do. I thought I might use what I have for now, and if I take to it, buy a decent bike next year. So
I dug up an old Ross 10-speed, took the whole thing apart, cleaned it and greased it, and
replaced what needed replacing. I've got it all back together and in good working order, but
before I hit the road, I need to know about tire pressure. The tires are still in decent shape,
so I have not replaced them. They say, on the side, to inflate to 45 PSI. Now, I've read that
road tires should be inflated to 90-100 PSI. So where does that leave me? I'm also wondering
about general guidelines for tire inflation, apart from PSI; that is, what the signs are of a
tire that is underinflated or overinflated.

lhoffman <[email protected]> wrote:

> I'm new at cycling, I've never tried riding regularly, but I thought I might give it a shot this
> season to see if it's something I want to
> do. I thought I might use what I have for now, and if I take to it, buy a decent bike next year.
> So I dug up an old Ross 10-speed, took the whole thing apart, cleaned it and greased it, and
> replaced what needed replacing. I've got it all back together and in good working order, but
> before I hit the road, I need to know about tire pressure. The tires are still in decent
> shape, so I have not replaced them. They say, on the side, to inflate to 45 PSI. Now, I've
> read that road tires should be inflated to 90-100 PSI. So where does that leave me? I'm also
> wondering about general guidelines for tire inflation, apart from PSI; that is, what the
> signs are of a tire that is underinflated or overinflated.

Appropriate tyre pressure depends on the width of the tyre (air volume) as well as the weight of the