tire shifting on rim during mtb downhill

Status
Not open for further replies.
N

Ned Mantei

Recently I had a valve stem tear off while descending a fairly steep and rocky downhill section. The
tube, and presumably the tire, had shifted on the rim. Two weeks later I noticed that the (new)
valve stem was no longer pointing straight out of the rim hole, and had to unmount and remount the
tire. I assume that the wheel bounces into the air, the brakes lock up, and the sudden impulse when
the tire makes contact again can pull the tire around on the rim. Is avoiding this a matter of
technique, such as momentarily releasing the brakes, is there some way to better fix the tire on the
rim, or is this just the way it is? As you see, I am new to mountain bikes.

--
Ned Mantei Department of Cell Biology, Swiss Federal Institute of Technology CH-8093 Zurich,
Switzerland

Ned Mantei wrote:
>
> Recently I had a valve stem tear off while descending a fairly steep and rocky downhill section.
> The tube, and presumably the tire, had shifted on the rim. Two weeks later I noticed that the
> (new) valve stem was no longer pointing straight out of the rim hole, and had to unmount and
> remount the tire. I assume that the wheel bounces into the air, the brakes lock up, and the sudden
> impulse when the tire makes contact again can pull the tire around on the rim. Is avoiding this a
> matter of technique, such as momentarily releasing the brakes, is there some way to better fix the
> tire on the rim, or is this just the way it is? As you see, I am new to mountain bikes.
>
> --
> Ned Mantei Department of Cell Biology, Swiss Federal Institute of Technology CH-8093 Zurich,
> Switzerland

use higher inflation pressure or glue one bead of the tyre to the rim

--
Marten

On Wed, 20 Aug 2003 10:32:11 +0200, Ned Mantei <[email protected]> may have said:

>Recently I had a valve stem tear off while descending a fairly steep and rocky downhill section.