tiredness and lack of energy

brad g

Jul 22, 2006
When I first started on the diet/exercise routine 5 weeks ago, I felt great all the time. I had been fairly sedentary for a couple of years and it felt good to be moving around and I had an almost endless supply of energy. I seemed to hit a brick wall today though. I got plenty of sleep and left my house at 2:30am as usual for the 11 mile ride to work. I just couldn't find a pace that I could keep. It felt like every pedal stroke was an uphill battle. It honestly felt like I was carrying an extra hundred pounds on my back. After I got to work, It wasn't any better and I literally dozed off several times while working on lifts (I'm a forklift mechanic). I don't know if it's something that I'm missing in my diet. I mostly eat salad, baked chicken, split pea soup and various fruits. Has anyone else experienced this? I didn't even have the energy for the ride home and had to put the bike in a friend's truck and have him drop me at the house. I know that 22 miles a day is totally do-able and plenty of people commute way farther than that.

brad g said: