Tires, Tires, Need help!

Discussion in 'Recumbent bicycles' started by Rick, Feb 25, 2003.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. Rick

Rick Guest

I ride a Rans V-rex. What tires would you recommend. I have comets on now, but would like something
    durable, fairly comfy, fairly fast on the road, and occasional use on crushed limestone paths. Maybe
    I should have two sets of tires rather than try to do everything on the same set of tires. Need all
    the help I can get. I am very new to recumbency. Thanks

Tags:

2. Cletus Lee

Cletus Lee Guest

In article <[email protected]>, [email protected] says...
    > I ride a Rans V-rex. What tires would you recommend. I have comets on now, but would like
    > something durable, fairly comfy, fairly fast on the road, and occasional use on crushed limestone
    > paths. Maybe I should have two sets of tires rather than try to do everything on the same set of
    > tires. Need all the help I can get. I am very new to recumbency. Thanks

I have found that Vredeateins S-Licks to be a good general purpose tire. Very durable and wide
    enough to take an occasional off pavement spin. As for being fast, I find them very comparable to
    Conti GP, or Schwalbe Stelvios.

--

Cletus D. Lee Bacchetta Giro Lightning Voyager http://www.clee.org
    - Bellaire, TX USA -

3. Mike S

Mike S Guest

Cletus Lee <[email protected]> wrote in message news:<[email protected]>...
    > In article <[email protected]>, [email protected] says...
    >
    >
    > I have found that Vredeateins S-Licks to be a good general purpose tire. Very durable and wide
    > enough to take an occasional off pavement spin. As for being fast, I find them very comparable to
    > Conti GP, or Schwalbe Stelvios.

I concur with Cletus on this one. On my V-Rex I rode Conti Grand Prixs and on my current Barcroft
    Virginia I have Stelvios. Both are excellent fast tires for roads but don't do well when there is