Tires

Status
Not open for further replies.
L

Lee Tharps

Hi

I have a mongoose switchback. I am looking to put slick road tires on it, since I only really ride
in the city. I'm a bit confused about tire size though. I have 26" Wheels. My current tires read
26x1.95 on the sidewalls. I'm assuming that is the circ and width of the tire. Will other 26" tire
size fit on my rims? Like say a
26x1.5 or 26x1.8?

Thanks for any info. I'm new to bike part swapping.

-lee

Wed, 18 Jun 2003 14:52:17 -0400 (EDT),
<[email protected]>, Lee Tharps
<[email protected]> wrote:

>Will other 26" tire size fit on my rims? Like say a
>26x1.5 or 26x1.8?
>
>Thanks for any info. I'm new to bike part swapping.

Yes though not a 26" X 1 3/8" and a few others loosely referred to as twenty-six inches. Always
double check and compare the ISO sizes.

This article explains tires. http://www.sheldonbrown.com/tire-sizing.html

The site is extensive, comprehensive and well worth your perusal.
--
zk

Tires marked with a decimal like 26 by 1.95 and 26 by 1.5 are typical modern mountain bike tires and
are interchangable. They are not interchangable with tires marked 26 by 1 1/4, or 26 by 1 3/8 etc,
which are old classic bike tires typical of those on old three speeds. Tires marked 26 by 1 3/8 etc.
have an overall diameter of 26 inches. HTH, Ernie

Lee Tharps wrote:

> Hi
>
> I have a mongoose switchback. I am looking to put slick road tires on it, since I only really ride
> in the city. I'm a bit confused about tire size though. I have 26" Wheels. My current tires read
> 26x1.95 on the sidewalls. I'm assuming that is the circ and width of the tire. Will other 26" tire
> size fit on my rims? Like say a
> 26x1.5 or 26x1.8?
>
> Thanks for any info. I'm new to bike part swapping.
>
> -lee

I have the same bike and put Ritchey "Tom Slick" 26 x 1.4" tires on it a couple of months ago in
search of greater speed. Work swell.