To shave or not to shave? Opinions???

solanabeachguy

Jul 11, 2003
So what is the story behind shaving?
I started riding not too long ago and I just want to hear some opinions.
I have heard lots of reasons why, but I want to hear from some real people and why they decided to shave or why they decided to not shave.

Let's ride!

I debated for a long time - none of the typical reasons seemed to hold water:

1) road rash is easier to keep clean - then why not shave your arms too, and if you're crashing so often it makes a difference then you need to find another sport.
2) aerodynamics - the effect is less than miniscule.
3) easier to massage the legs - maybe, but I doubt the vast majority of racers in the lower/middle categories are getting their legs rubbed.
4) women dig it - my wife is still trying to get used to it.

It all boils down to tradition and showing other cyclists that you're serious about the sport - if you shave your legs, you've probably also spent enough time in fast groups to develop good bike handling skills. To be quite honest, when I'm in a race or fast training ride and I find myself behind somebody with unshaved legs, I get a little nervous and try to get off their wheel.

when I'm in a race or fast training ride and I find myself behind somebody with unshaved legs, I get a little nervous and try to get off their wheel.

Sounds like a strategic advantage to me... Of course after a few of these rides the strategic advantage would dissappear.

I don't shave because it is a hassle and don't see the advantage and don't need to be labeled a Fabio. If someone thinks I'm a Fred for not shaving then they can. I'll be just fine knowing they don't want my draft so when there is the next breakaway at the front they may get left out.

Of course I guess a Fabio thinking they don't want to follow me may try to force me out by passing and such. Well that will just make me take revenge at the next opportunity.