Total newbee - Help required

Discussion in 'Mountain Bikes' started by Dc, May 1, 2003.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. Dc

Dc Guest

I bought a Claude Butler Cape Wrath bike a couple of years ago in the uk - Long story but it never
    got used and has been stored in my loft. I have decided to sell it but the back wheel is sticking -
    I think its the Grimeca disc brakes but I haven't got a clue how to free them off. Can anyone guide
    me on how to free it off or alternatively do Halfords or similar offer a service for bikes and if so
    what will the cost approx??

Cheers

Tags:

2. Shaun Rimmer

Shaun Rimmer Guest

DC <[email protected]> wrote in message news:[email protected]...
    > I bought a Claude Butler Cape Wrath bike a couple of years ago in the uk - Long story but it never
    > got used and has been stored in my loft. I have decided to sell it but the back wheel is sticking
    > - I think its the Grimeca disc brakes but I haven't got a clue how to free them off. Can anyone
    > guide me on how to free it off or alternatively do Halfords or similar offer a service for bikes
    > and if so what will the cost approx??

If it's a cable disc, check the cables are free - they sometimes bind if left stood for a while.

Just undo the cable end clamp bolt on the brake calliper, check if the cable moves freely by pulling
    the lever, then pulling the cable end back through. If it's stiff, remove the inner cable from the
    outer and apply some light oil to the inner. Re-insert, run it through a few times until it's moving
    smooth again, and re-clamp the cable. Make sure you clamp it with enough cable tension, then fine
    tune it with the little adjuster knob(s) either at the lever end, the calliper end, or both.

Hope this helps.

Shaun aRe

3. Technician

Technician Guest

In article <[email protected]>, [email protected] says...