Total Newbie looking for feedback

Discussion in 'Triathlon' started by Red Snapper, Apr 16, 2003.

1. Red Snapper

Red Snapper Guest

I'm 34 years old woman who's 30 pounds overweight and I'm training for my first Sprint Triathlon in
    mid August (2 weeks before will also do a try-a-tri). I've been swimming with a masters team for a
    year now and will continue, so I feel the swim is no problem (slow but no problem). By the way most
    everyone on my swim team are triathletes. I'm not overly worried about the bike. My serious concern
    is running. I've never run before, except for 1 year ago resulting in a stress fracture of the ankle
    - after 6 weeks - the result of improperly fitted shoes. I'm starting very slow, starting at run 1
    min/walk 2 min, increasing the run by 30 sec a week. I'm now in week 5 and am at 2.5 min run/2 min
    walk (feeling pretty good). After running I go on a spin bike for 15 minutes and do 20+ push ups and
    150+ crunches. The people who are training with me (all beginners) also are at the same level. By
    August if I continue this very slow pace I should be around run 13
    min/walk 2 min. I don't feel any great need to go fast I just want to finish (and not get another
    injury). When we are all together we run on an inside track at the university. When alone I run
    on a treadmill at our local University gym . Is running on a treadmill terrible? When alone I
    find running on the track really hard (very unmotivated). I swim 3 - 4 times a week and I run 4
    times a week.

I really want to do my triathlon, I'm very motivated and I'm enjoying every step of the way.

1st - what do you guys think about treadmills? 2nd - am I insane thinking about doing this sprint? (
    I plan on doing a run/walk technique - obviously) 3rd - any and all tips are greatly appreciated

Thanks so much in advance, Tracy

Tags:

2. Jojo

Jojo Guest