Total noob wanting to commute 20 mi. on something cheap and vintage...what's good enough?

MeatMachine

May 23, 2011
Here's the deal - I like to do things cheap and I like vintage stuff. I need to get to work (about 22 mi.) in a reasonable amount of time by bike (low traffic country backroads, mostly flat) so I'm thinking if I go with something that was awesome and expensive a long time ago it should still be good (and cheap) enough for a total newbie to get there in maybe an hour and a half or less. I'm in good shape and young, I rock climb, run, lift, etc. and just want to start riding to work a couple times a week.

So far I've seen a 1974 Schwinn Sprint ($200 - seems pricey, but it's mint and looks sweet) and a 1973 Schwinn Continental ($60) - are these good enough to meet my needs for the time being or are there better models I can buy cheap and put a couple hundred miles a week on? I wonder if a fixed gear bike would be enough if the terrain's pretty much flat the whole way? Also, what are some priority upgrades to put on my radar once I understand cycling better? Thanks all!!!

-Meat

Either bike sounds OK. $200 is not much if the bike is good condition. Have the bike looked over by your local bike shop. You don't want to start this and break down.

Have you factored the time needed to ride 22 mile to work? You will be able to probably average maybe 15 mph, not counting time for red lights etc.

Remember that wear and tear will take it's toll on components even on a new bike. On a vintage bike expect to do some upgrades. Derailers, hubs, sprocket sets and especially tires will need to be replaced after some time. Before you buy anything ride it first and ask yourself if you can spend X amount of hours each day riding it. Tires on a used bike is the first suspect especially if it's been stored outside. Check for dry rot. Bottom line is you get what you pay for and you may be buying someone else headache.