Touchy front shifting on Ultegra triple

Status
Not open for further replies.
D

Dave

I just set up a bike with Ultegra triple. All new Shimano drivetrain parts and shifters and a
Specialties Alize crank with 50-40-30 rings. Rear shifting is perfect, but front shifting is very
touchy. It feels very "notchy", grinds a bit on upshifts, and downshifts go "clunk" and I have to
be very careful and "hold my mouth just right " or it will shift straight to the inner ring when I
downshift from the outer ring. This is the best I've been able to get it after two days of trying
everything I can think of. I've set up several front derailleurs before and never had this kind of
trouble, but I'm no pro. I took it to my LBS and the guy played with it and couldn't improve on my
set-up. Then he told me that Specialties cranks are not compatible with Shimano. I didn't buy
that. I wanted to take it to another shop, but they're closed for the next several days to digest
their turkey.

I double checked that the fd is indeed the triple model.

Is Ultegra triple front shifting always poor? I doubt it, but I sure can't figure it out. I set up
Ultegra double on my other road bike and it's flawless. Any ideas?

Thanks very much.

Dave: How old is the Specialized crank? If it doesn't have the various ramps & pins built into it,
shifting might be problematic at best. STI shifting demands a lot more from chainring & chain
performance than friction shifting, and the fact that your crank has non-standard (for STI) sizes
(30/40/50 instead of 30/42/52) implies that it might be of the older, pre-STI style.

If it's a modern Specialized road crank, it should be relatively compatible; nobody would make a new
crankset that didn't work well with STI shifting!

--Mike-- Chain Reaction Bicycles http://www.ChainReactionBicycles.com

"Dave" <[email protected]> wrote in message news:[email protected]...
> I just set up a bike with Ultegra triple. All new Shimano drivetrain parts and shifters and a