Touring America next summer... several ?s

thefridgeisempt

Jun 23, 2005
Howdy. I'm new to touring, and certainly naive. My buddy and I are planning to cross America next summer, San Fran to DC. We are trying to do it at the lowest possible cost.

First question... which bike? I'm having trouble distinguishing the difference between racing bikes and touring bikes. I had my eye on a Fuji Roubaix, but I admit its really only because it has a triple ring chain gear and is more affordable than other comparable bikes ($1300 retail). My feelings won't be hurt if you inform me that this is the last bike in the world I would want to take across America.

Second, sleeping accomodations? Is it a rediculous idea to ask locals if we can pitch a tent in their yard? How about pull off and set up 50 feet off the road? Motel expenses would add up freakishly fast, so this is the one snag we are trying to avoid the most.

Third, how much should we budget for food per day? This one I am completely in the dark on.

We are planning on loading up and strapping on loaded panniers all over our bikes and make it a truly self-made tour. We are teaming up with the Alzheimer's Association to raise money for a cure.

Anybody want to donate one or two cents a mile?:)

Any thoughts or ideas or even better personal experiences would be much much appreciated. Also, any other questions I may be forgetting or may not be thinking of that you might realize need to be answered or we die... please, have at it. Thanks a ton.