Touring Bike Wheels

Discussion in 'Touring and recreational cycling' started by desokol, Sep 13, 2005.

1. desokol

desokol New Member

After blowing out 2 spokes on an unloaded bike, I've learned that my wheels are the weak link on my Windsor Tourist. My plan is to start doing some loaded (camping) touring next summer, but not before replacing the wheels.
    I'm new to this and am finding a dizzying array of advice out there. I.E. eyeleted wheels or not, 36 spokes or more, etc.
    Can anyone offer me some advice on good, dependable and reasonably priced wheel/hub/tire combinations to look for?

Tags:

2. lugger

lugger New Member

Here is what I found by talking to people in some top level touring bike shops when I was looking for wheels. I was lucky to find a lot of consensus among professionals.

Shimano 105, for 130mm rear spacing, or either Shimano Deore or Deore LX, for 135mm rear spacing, should be quite fine for touring hubs and not too expensive.

36 spokes laced 3-cross are necessary for the rear wheel and best for the front, especially if you use front panniers. More than 36 spokes and more than 3x brings diminishing returns. Then, also, it is hard to find hubs and rims. There is no more significant strength when you add more spokes or crosses. Swiss DT brand and their Champion model 14 gauge straight, not double butted, spokes were always recommended to me.

For rims, Mavic brand was highly respected by everyone I asked, but not their cheapest models. The Open Pro model is considered good if you use narrow tires, less than 25 mm, but you can probably get a stronger rim for wider tires, maybe Mavic XC717. They both have ferrules (eyelets?) around the spokes.

I bought a rear wheel prebuilt by Quality Wheelhouse with a 105 hub, 36 Swiss DT 14 gauge spokes laced 3x to a Mavic Open Pro rim. I had it professionally trued and tensioned. A LBS can probably order Quality Wheelhouse products.