Trail Etiquette - Single Track Up/down Hill

biobrandedarmorzet

Jun 13, 2015
Hey all, I'm a total newbie in the dirt. About 18 months ago I inherited a Trek Fuel EX8-26 full floater, nice bike. About a year ago I started riding 10 - 15 miles a day, 5 days a week. After 2400 miles on paved trails my friend bought a new Trek EX7-29 and talked me into some trail riding. It's a lot more fun than I ever thought.

We've dome some good rides on 'green' trails. Most are wider dual track or fire trails but now we're finding some more technical and harder trails to ride.

What is the trail guideline for a single track? Who has the right of way up hill or down hill?

I am assuming on wider 'boulevards' you follow the customary rules of the road just as you do when driving a car in your respective country. Stay right as necessary, pass on the left when at all possible, give a little warning before passing. Hikers and horses have the right of way.

Generally, the rider going UPHILL, has the right of way. The logic is, it's a lot easier to restart going downhill than it is going uphill. On a very steep hill, this may not apply, but for most rides and general rolling hill type action, that's the rule of thumb.
I've yielded right of way going uphill when a group of five or six bikes is descending and I'm alone, but that was my election, they usually are ready to yield.

Some don't follow the common sense Etiquette that makes our trails safer and more fun for all...
Always be prepared to stop and don't ride at race speeds on two way trails,,
Always be able to stop In the distance you can see,,slow down for blind corners,,, BUT most Importantly remember,, when your line of sight falls short
call out, "Rider Up" and call it out LOUD !,, even if there is no one there,,but what if there was ???

If you see ear phones watch out ! they are not paying attention..