Trainer, Magnetic or Fluid resistance?

Wally

Jun 28, 2003
I am planing on purchasing a trainer this week. I find lots of magnetic resistance types out there as well as fluid resistance for more money. I have never used a trainer before ( I use rollers often). Will I regret saving money and getting a magnetic type over a fluid type?

What are the pros and cons of each ?

Fluid (and wind) trainers have a more realistic power curve on them. Mag trainers are definitely cheaper but not as realistic. The only disadvantage to a wind trainer is the noise, so if you're going to be using it in a garage or something, it'll save you a bit of money.

ganderctr said:
Fluid (and wind) trainers have a more realistic power curve on them. Mag trainers are definitely cheaper but not as realistic. The only disadvantage to a wind trainer is the noise, so if you're going to be using it in a garage or something, it'll save you a bit of money.
Agree, I still like my old Blackburn wind trainer for the realistic load curve. I use it in an upstairs bedroom. With two layers of carpet under it, my wife says it's not loud at all downstairs. Don't know if fan trainers are even made anymore.

I've had a mag trainer, and have been using it relgiously with spinervals videos. I've gotten a great workout. My one friend had a fluid trainer and said he and some other people had problems with the fluid leaking.

I've recently purchased a mag trainer and I am very happy with it.
It is relatively quiet, easy to set up and gives a great work out.

I have used a fluid trainer but, whilst they are definitely better, could not really justify the extra cost for my humble needs.

If you do get a mag trainer make sure it has a remote to control the resistance.

I suppose the bottom line is - if you are after realism then take the bike out and don't use a trainer ;)

Wally said: