Trainer or outdoors for fitness testing? Newbie need help

82zman

Mar 27, 2006
I am new to using a PM. I purchased an PT Pro+. I can not seem to find a suitable location to do the testing recommended in Coggans book.

I have a KK Pro trainer and I am thinking it best to do at least the longer stuff on it for lack of a suitable outdoor area. (too many stops, varying terrain etc.)

My question is will the results of an indoor test predict outdoor results accurately? I am getting ready to do my first TT and wanted the data for pacing. I understand Watts are Watts but in general where will I produce the most watts, Indoor or outdoor? I can see it going both ways. For instance I might have a better fitness test indoors because of the consistency of the trainer which would result in better pacing. Or I could have a better result outdoors because of increased cooling and a more interesting stimulus.

Thanks for your help

82zman said:
... I am getting ready to do my first TT and wanted the data for pacing. ...
As Alex say's many if not most folks find they can put out more power outdoors, the exceptions seem to be folks that lack suitable long unbroken or steadily graded roads and possibly those who have high inertia trainers like Velodynes (or Alex's custom trainer).