Training Advice for Worlds

Discussion in 'Cycling Training' started by Biker Girl, Jun 16, 2003.

1. Biker Girl

Biker Girl New Member

Hi there, I am 15 and a Female. I come from the U.K and would like some info on training for the junior worlds.

I have been racing for just over a year and really enjoy racing and training. I have the rest of this year and next year as well to prepare (I think) I would like to get onto the G.B squad and go to the junior worlds, when i am a junior. My best discipline at the mo is T.T as I won the B.S.C.A National T.T in May and my age catagory in the G.H.S in sept last year.

I also like road racing/circuit racing although i have little experience. I raced in the Manchester International Youth Tour with the U18 girls and finnished 16th. This was my first road event. I am going to be racing in Holland as I am going to compete in the Tour of Achtveld(i think thats how u spell it)
    and also the Manchester International Youth Tour.

I am also going to try the National Track Championships this year. I first went on the track about a month ago and recently won the B.S.C.A Sprint and came 2nd in the puruit loosing by 19 hundredths of a second.

I really need to do well at Holland Manchester and at the Track Champs this year. I think I need to be getting top 10 results in Womens National Road Race Series and Championships or complete a 2000m pursuit in under 2m43 i think and 500m in 39 seconds.

I have alot of work to do but I am willing to work hard and train often. Has anyone any suggestions about what kind of training I need to do for the different disciplines or any tactical advide for on the road

Thanks Biker Girl :)

Tags:

2. 2LAP

2LAP New Member

I think that you should contact the World Class Start in your region. Even if you don't pass the tests that they have, they may be able to provide you with advice, links to training sessions and links to a coach. Check out www.go-ride.org.uk