Training for 1 Month & DEAD LEGS & Bike Position

1500stuntman

Jul 6, 2005
First post...I am new to the sport and new to this forum.

I have been riding to work & back for about 1 month now (around 100 miles per week) with a sunday afternoon 25 mile ride. I have noticed gains in speed and endurance -up to 20 mph avg on Trek 1500- until this week...when I feel like I am reversing my gains.

Now - I am tired when Cycling and my legs don't seem to feel as powerful.

Is this normal when training?

Also, I have a question about the proper cycling form. I am considering racing in a triathalon this September and would like to know more about proper riding form. ('04 Trek 1500) When training, should I ride gripping the upper or lower handle bars?

1500stuntman said:
Welcome! To the sport and the forum!

I have been riding to work & back for about 1 month now (around 100 miles per week) with a sunday afternoon 25 mile ride. I have noticed gains in speed and endurance -up to 20 mph avg on Trek 1500- until this week...when I feel like I am reversing my gains.

First, for someone new to the sport, 20 mph *average* speed over any significant distance (like the 25 mile ride you mention) is very good. Kudos for that. The symptoms that you're describing sound like you are training at a pretty high intensity, but not letting yourself recover enough between sessions. In other words, you may be overtraining. You should sprinkle active recovery rides (or take a day off) between your higher intensity rides. Recovery rides should be around 65% of your maximum effort, roughly the same whether you measure based on heart rate, power or speed, provided you do it on the same course where you do your high effort rides.

Also, I have a question about the proper cycling form. I am considering racing in a triathalon this September and would like to know more about proper riding form. ('04 Trek 1500) When training, should I ride gripping the upper or lower handle bars?