Training for 560 miles/900km 7 day-stage race in 2009

Lepanini

Jul 7, 2006
Hi all!!

I need some advice.

I want to do training for 560 miles/900km XC 7 day-stage race in 2009.

I have set this as my personal goal. I want to start training from next month onwards. I have no MTB experience but am willing to learn. I am also unfit but am dedicated to my goal and believe it is achievable!!

Any advice as to where to start?:D

join an XC group/club and start riding regularly with others with experience, then take it from there.

Oh my god! five hundred and some cross country MTB? That's amazing- That much is hard to race on a road ride in a week. You have three years, so the key right now is not to panic, and steadily build up form. In the winters, instead of taking months at a time off, do either another aerobic sport, ski, XC ski, or lift weights. For MTBing, shoulder strength is as important as having power legs.
Start, if you already don't, racing on both road an MTB local circuits, but don't put too much on that right away. You should gradually improve until you are able to win races- then do the next category up, e.g., Beginner in MTB to Sport Class, or Cat. 5 road to Cat. Four. Scout the competition, and know where you should be at by the time that race rolls around, and you'll do okay.

Thanx for the advice bikedude40k!:) Mt training has taken a back seat since my original post but it will resume today on a full scale!!!!!:D

I'd say split your training between road riding and MTB riding. You need to become a technically good MTBer or else you'll expend huge amounts of energy where other riders are simply letting their bike flow. Also, you develop an ability to recover after high rates of work. The road riding will give you the ability to turn peddles hour after hour...

You should set some goals for 2007 and 2008.

Depending on how your training goes you might want to look at some 12 hour enduro type races.