training for motocross

reichard117

May 1, 2011
i just bought a left over cannondale caad8 and its pretty much for training for motocross. i dont know how many or if anyone on here rides dirt bikes like myself but im new to cycling and i need a good work out. im in decent muscular shape, but i have no cardio whatsoever, therefor i am trying to see what people reccomend for a cardio and small muscular gain
if i could i would like to get some core workout with riding cause crunches are workouts in the gym are my least favorite

anyone's input or direction to where i can find some of these training programs would be a big help
thanks, jesse

i know (not personally) a rally raid moto rider who regularly climbs a cat. 1 climb, we are talking about 30 km uphill, say once a week in certain periods during the year. That is a bit extreme i think for you, if you are new to cycling. I think 2 to 4 hours flat rides (between 70% and 80% maximum heart rate) would be ok both as an start and as a constant training program, to get you aerobic capable in sports. You picked a good bike, caad 8 cannot be described as a left over bike !

You get no core workout on a bicycle but bikes are great for providing non-weight bearing aerobic exercise, which you'll probably appreciate after being pummelled on a dirt bike.

Start off by getting your saddle and bars in the right position for you and then just go ride the darned thing for a couple of weeks or so. Find somewhere you consider fun and interesting and up the pace. As cycling really isn't a strength limited sport you're not going to gain huge amounts of muscle, sure you'll gain some, but not much, leg muscle but it's probably not going to help you that much on the 'cross bike.