Training from start to MS 150

lcarey2

Jan 2, 2006
I am a newbie in several ways. I have very little cycling experience but I am trying to gain more every day. I have registered for the MS 150 - a 180 mile ride from Houston to Austin which takes place in April. I'm looking for advice on where to start my training from the point of someone who has never ridden more than 9 miles at a time. Any recommendations on books, web sites, etc... that could help me develop a training schedule would be greatly appreciated.
Thanks!
Lara

Been there, done that, got the t-shirt (and had a blast). :) That was 7 MS150's ago for me, and I ended up enjoying cycling so much that I've just joined a race team last year.

If you're like I was, you're more concerned with your ability to ride 100 miles in a day than any care about how fast you finish. The key there is to start acquiring some time in the saddle. Don't worry about how far you ride at first, just get on the bike 3-4 times a week for at least 30-min and start getting your butt, back and neck accustomed to the riding position. Get a pair of biking shorts immediately! Concentrate on keeping your upper body relaxed, changing hand positions periodically, and spinning along without mashing hard on the pedals. Many beginners will try to start out in too hard a gear, which will lead to muscle (and possibly tendon or joint) soreness. It shouldn't feel hard to push the pedals around, after all you're going to have to do it for an entire day. As you're initially getting accustomed to riding, you'll also want to listen to your body and look for any acute pain which could mean a bicycle that is not properly adjusted to you. If this happens (anywhere but in your butt), then you might want to have a local bike store or an experienced rider check the fit of your bike and your riding position. Will you be riding a road bike, mountain bike, or hybrid?