Training plan for newbie triathlete... speed up my 40km Olympic tri ride

Discussion in 'Cycling Training' started by mikej321, Apr 24, 2013.

1. mikej321

mikej321 New Member

Hi All,

I am pretty new to cycling and have started doing triathlons, I have been riding for about 4 months (December last year) now with no real structure to my training and a lot of guess work. I am at a stage where the tri season has finished and the next one will recommence in about 8 months, I feel the bike is an area I need improvement and want to take it more seriously. It is the only part of my training I don't really understand well or have a specific structure to improve (get faster) my current training is as follows:

Monday - Rolling Hills Ride 50km
    Tuesday - Easy Spin/Recover 35km
    Wednesday - Rolling Hills Ride 50km
    Thursday - Easy Spin 35km
    Friday - Easy Spin 35km
    Saturday - Long Endurance Ride/Mountain Ride 80-100km
    Sunday - REST

I am planning to follow this for approximately 3 months to help build a strong base, just wondering if anyone has any suggestions for me? Am I overtraining? Is focusing on hills going to help me go faster?

After this block of 3 months I plan to work on high cadence 120-130, high speed interval work, I am hoping by my next Tri I can get my average speed over 40km up to 35km/h

Your suggestions and feedback would be greatly appreciated

Tags:

2. daveryanwyoming

daveryanwyoming Well-Known Member