Training schedule for 300km route

John Picton

Dec 3, 2003
I'm quite new to the whole cycling thing and have become involved in a group who want to do a 300km route in Sweden next June.

At the moment I cycle to work and back (around 16 miles) then do around a 30 mile route at the weekend. I want to increase this considerably in the new year but am not sure what the best course of action to take is.

If anyone has any recommendations for training and diet I would be grateful for your comments.

Thanks

I assume that your 300km is going to be a ride as opposed to a race? Asuming it is a ride then your best plan of attack is a simple one. Ride your bike as much as you can. If it were a race i would suggest intervals. hill work, sprint training blah blah. Given it is a long leisure ride I would just ride / train as often and for as long as my time and circumstances allow. Eat good food, plenty of fruit and vegies and you will be fine. The associated benefit of getting in shape is that when you are In Sweden you will get a better look at the scenery because you will not be drooling all over the handlebars ;-)

Originally posted by blip
.... The associated benefit of getting in shape is that when you are In Sweden you will get a better look at the scenery because you will not be drooling all over the handlebars ;-)

I would have thought the whole point of cycling in Sweden in June was to drool all over the handlebars at the passing scenery (the non-stationary variety in particular) .....

Thanks for your post. You are right, it is a "leisure" ride rather than a race, although it does sound odd calling it leisure!

I'm not a competitive cyclist, but I am quite serious about the whole thing. I've spent a little bit of cash upgrading my bike and getting a some kit so now I can tackle most routes regardless of weather.