Training w/o Power Meter

tezi

Jan 31, 2013
Hello!
First of all, this is my first post here (altough I have been lurking for a while) and now I would like to ask some help from you guys. You really seem to know a thing or two about cycling!

I have been racing for 2 years with road bikes so I'm quite new for the sport. I'm still getting hang of it but I have a strong background where I'm coming so its quite easy for me. I did train biathlon for over a decade and my max VO2 was at 80 for quite some time while I was hitting 80+kg on the scales. I did quit competing in biathlon since I got badly injured and healing took almost 2 years (cracked my hand in various places). Since then I have been keen into cycling.

I have now seen that cycling is way different from skiing and I really don't know how I'm supposed to train. I have been doing the usual stuff 2-3x20min lactate threshold and skiing for base. Some strength training in the gym and with body weight as well. Now im sitting around 350-360 W for my lactate threshold (I cant train with power meter) so I'm pretty solid.

It seems I have been sitting in the same place for few months now. I can get decent workouts done but it seems nothing is happening (1-2x LT per week, total of 10-20h per week).
I'm completely lost what I should do next, increase weekly hours or do something quite different.. I would be very glad for your help, I'm really motivated to get some good results!