Training? What shoud I do?

michael750a

Oct 10, 2007
I just started riding bicycles (about 4 weeks ago). I got into it to help me get in better shape to race dirt bikes. I do not know where I need to start my training or how to go about. What I have done so far is the following, started out going 6 miles a day every day then I up it 2 miles every new week I am riding 10 miles a day at an average of 15mhp on a fairly hilly road. Is this a good way to start out and just keep taking my time and build up my endurance slowly? How many miles should I ride a day I was told 15-20 is a good mark to shoot for? I am 25, 5'6", 165-170. What should I do, I just want to be in better shape for my dirt bike and maybe be able to do a road race or two for the fun of it one day. Thanks

Michael

Lucky you, you live in FLA!. All the best in your riding experiences and a safe road ahead. You should search on the net for heart rate calculators and find you heart rate zones in %, then ride the bike at a easy pace for several months to allow your body to adapt and build a 'BASE' for other training regements to follow. Take your time and persistance will be a trusted friend over time.

michael750a said:
I just started riding bicycles (about 4 weeks ago). I got into it to help me get in better shape to race dirt bikes. I do not know where I need to start my training or how to go about. What I have done so far is the following, started out going 6 miles a day every day then I up it 2 miles every new week I am riding 10 miles a day at an average of 15mhp on a fairly hilly road. Is this a good way to start out and just keep taking my time and build up my endurance slowly? How many miles should I ride a day I was told 15-20 is a good mark to shoot for? I am 25, 5'6", 165-170. What should I do, I just want to be in better shape for my dirt bike and maybe be able to do a road race or two for the fun of it one day. Thanks

Michael