Transformation info

Status
Not open for further replies.
W

Wwest

I am rather new to cycling, and have an older Univega Alpina Country that I won in a contest about
12 years ago. I think that particular model was at the time considered a hybrid bike with the
crowbar handlebars and the knobby tires. I am wondering if I could reasonably turn this into a road
bike by replacing the knobby tires with road tires and replacing the handlebars with the curved road
bars, brake/shifter combination, etc. Would it be cost-effective to do so? I just recently bought a
Trek 4500 to accomodate the all-around riding that I am presently doing, but want something
specifically for road use and faster speeds than the Trek I have. Thanks in advance for any advice!

In article <[email protected]>,
wwest <[email protected]> wrote:
>I am rather new to cycling, and have an older Univega Alpina Country that I won in a contest about
>12 years ago. I think that particular model was at the time considered a hybrid bike with the
>crowbar handlebars and the knobby tires. I am wondering if I could reasonably turn this into a road
>bike by replacing the knobby tires with road tires and replacing the handlebars with the curved
>road bars, brake/shifter combination, etc.

You could make that change, although it wouldn't really make it a "road bike".

> Would it be cost-effective to do so?

No.

> I just recently bought a Trek 4500 to accomodate the all-around riding that I am presently doing,
> but want something specifically for road use and faster speeds than the Trek I have. Thanks in
> advance for any advice!

I would consider changing the tires and nothing else. The tires are the item that will make the
biggest improvement and cost the least.

--Paul

"Paul Southworth" <[email protected]> wrote in message
news:Sr1Db.39064$A%[email protected]...
> In article <[email protected]>, wwest <[email protected]> wrote:
> >I am rather new to cycling, and have an older Univega Alpina Country that
I