Traveling & dead legs - what works for you?

Discussion in 'Power Training' started by alexinATL, Apr 4, 2017.

1. alexinATL

alexinATL New Member

I have been riding / training pretty seriously for about 15 years now and am now age 48. I travel for work about 1 or 2x per month. Normally short trips of 2-4 days. 2x a year I got to China for a week. I normally ride about 9.5 hours per week and my CTL is usually 60-7x. I am good about planning my traveling week as a rest week, but I am wondering if anyone else has any experience with how to make a smooth transition back to riding. Normally I won't take more than 2 days off without at least sitting on a crappy hotel bike and getting some kind of spin in to help keep my legs used to moving. Regardless when I get back home and get on the bike my legs don't feel very good for the first day, but it seems to take 3-4 days sometimes to get back to where they feel decent. ( this usually coincides with my TSB being even to slightly negative).

Does anyone have any strategies for dealing with this type of issue? I was thinking my next China trip for 7 days of just getting on the crappy bike every 3rd day and riding about half an hour ( always short on time) with maybe 3-4 minutes around threshold and 4 30 second max efforts on some pretty short rest just to try to keep things moving. Any input is appreciated! ;)

Tags:

2. dabac

dabac Well-Known Member

Might want to try compression tights during/after the flight.
    If you're attentive enough - and anstomically predisposed - there might be some swelling from the flight messing with you.

3. Sfuller

Sfuller New Member