Trek 520 Gears

scituatejohn

Aug 3, 2003
I contacted a local Trek dealer about the 520. I was concerned that the gears were not low enough and told the dealer that I would like to change the cassette to a 12-32 and change the crankset to a Sugino XD. Someone from the dealer replied to me and here is what she had to say:

We do carry the Trek 520 and it is a wonderful touring bike. We could change the cassette for a minimal charge (less than $20). Changing both the cassette and chainring isn't necessarily a workable option. A 30/34 is less than a 1:1 ratio and it would be extremely difficult to pedal fast enough to have enough momentum to balance.

The standard Trek 520 has 11-32 in the back and 30/42/52 in the front. This gives a gear range of 24" to 128". The 128" gear seems silly to me, and I am sure that I would never use it. The biggest gear that I have on my non-touring road bike is 119", and I hardly ever use that, and don't need it. I have never done fully loaded touring before, but I have read that one should try for the range of 20" to 100". The 26/36/46 front with a 12-34 rear will give me a range of 21" to 104". If I used a 22/32/44 front and 12-34 rear, then I would get a range of 18" to 100".

Is the dealer correct in saying that gears below 24" aren't "necessarily a workable option," or should I insist on lower gears?

I should point out that my goal is to do a loaded tour, and I want to ride from Boston to Atlanta and use the Skyline Drive and the Blue Ridge Parkway along the way. I am 37 years old and 30 lbs overweight. My knees do hurt occasionally, and I want to make sure that I do not injure them.

Originally posted by scituatejohn
I contacted a local Trek dealer about the 520. I was concerned that the gears were not low enough and told the dealer that I would like to change the cassette to a 12-32 and change the crankset to a Sugino XD. Someone from the dealer replied to me and here is what she had to say: