Trek 5900 62CM ?????

Status
Not open for further replies.
S

Sundog

I am in the market for a new bike. I have been riding a 64 CM custom for the last 20 years. I am
6'3'' and ride at 210 pounds.

When the bike was built I was 6' 4''. Due to some back trouble I am now 6'3''. I think I am going to
drop down to a 62 CM frame. The selection of stock frams at 62 CM is slim.

Are there any big riders on trek 5900 frames out there who could share their experiences? How do
they hold up to big riders around 200 pounds plus? Since I ride the canyons in Utah a lot I was
wondering about the stability of the larger frames during high speed (50MPH) descents?

i think you can safely get away with 60cm. i'm 6'5": my full custom steel frame is 62 but my cheapie
aluminum is 60 - easy to dial in the extra adjustment with today's longer seat posts & riser stems.

sundog wrote:
> I am in the market for a new bike. I have been riding a 64 CM custom for the last 20 years. I am
> 6'3'' and ride at 210 pounds.
>
> When the bike was built I was 6' 4''. Due to some back trouble I am now 6'3''. I think I am going
> to drop down to a 62 CM frame. The selection of stock frams at 62 CM is slim.
>
> Are there any big riders on trek 5900 frames out there who could share their experiences? How do
> they hold up to big riders around 200 pounds plus? Since I ride the canyons in Utah a lot I was
> wondering about the stability of the larger frames during high speed (50MPH) descents?
>

"sundog" <[email protected]> wrote in message news:<[email protected]>...
> I am in the market for a new bike. I have been riding a 64 CM custom for the last 20 years. I am
>
> When the bike was built I was 6' 4''. Due to some back trouble I am now 6'3''. I think I am going

I would think if your spine got shorter, you might want a shorter top tube, but not necessarily a
smaller frame size. Also, if you have back trouble you may want to keep a fairly upright position.