Trek 7.5 FX or 7.5 FX DISC?

grindr82

Sep 4, 2011
Hello Everyone.

I am new to the road cycling community and I have only basic knowledge of bicycles. I already own a Trek 7.2FX, but as I have gotten more into cycling I would like to upgrade to the 7.5 FX because of the nicer components and such. I would like to know what the major difference in stopping power is between a disc or non disc brake bike?

I live in the an area with out many hills only some different road grades, most of them are gradual at that.

I would appreciate any advice

Thank You.

Disc brakes do have much superior stopping power than traditional rim brakes. With that said, the terrain that you described makes it sound as if the disc brakes would be a little overkill. Also, the disc brakes that come on the 7.5FX Disc are hydraulic disc brakes which require more maintenance than rim brakes or even mechanical disc brakes. After all, fluid does need to be replaced at certain intervals, seals can begin to leak, and you need to be sure that the fluid is at the required level before each ride. The question that you need to ask yourself is "Are disc brakes worth the extra $100 plus the expenses associated with maintaining them?" One consideration is that you might want to take a trip in the future to an area that is not so flat or that you might begin riding more technical routes that would require more stopping power.

Thank You for the input I appreciate it, I was completely unaware of the disc brakes being hydraulic....definitely something I will have to consider before I purchase. I had another question regarding the 7.5 FX. I am interested after the riding I have done around town and on trails in getting front suspension added to either the 7.2 or the 7.5 FX. What type of fork should I be looking for in regard to suspension.