Trek Bikes not honoring their warranty... ONE MORE TIME.

Dennyvazquez

Nov 9, 2010
I was afraid of what it is being every day more popular over the web... "Trek not honoring their warranty on OCLV frames".

I read this in dozens of websites, and now I'm one of those who are living the experience by myself. I have to say that since I started riding mountainbikes I have never used another brands than TREK and GARY FISHER, we started with couple of trek's 4500 and then moved to GF tassajara, and GF Sugar 3 everything was perfect, even this days my son is riding his old trek 4500 not that he loves to do so, because that bike is a 18", but rather because TREK has not warranted the 21" OCLV carbon frame on the bike he was using.

This are the facts:

When riding in a night race my son who appears on this picture with his bike was riding his ELITE 9.9 OCLV trek bike.

When passing a dip, he heard a crack, he thought it was the saddle so he stoped for few seconds to check, when he noticed the other racers were approaching so he continued the race.

Next day he was cleaning his bike and the cloth got trapped in the paint he called me and unfortunately it was more than a pain chip he got a crack on the seatstay.

Here is a picture of the damage... it does not go all the way around, but 50% of the tube, it does not make any noise when riding it and even hitting the frame does not sound like a broken, but I thought it was unsafe to continue using the frame, so we tooked to the local dealer, they took some pictures and sent those to the factory, they asked to get the frame, so we removed all the components and sent it, after couple of weeks TREK guys decided it is a NO WARRANTY ISSUE...

This is the message we received.