triple vs double chainrings

kstein84

Jul 8, 2004
So I am looking into buying a Specialized Dolce Elite. It is a triple... but I am looking into joining my school's cycling team. I was told that I would probably want a bike that is a double for this. However, I do not want to just limit myself to racing, especially since I've never done it before. Is there a significant difference?? I want a bike I can take out on bike routes and scenic tours as well as charity rides and races... plus using it to commute to work in nice weather. Should I be looking into something other than the Dolce Elite? I am very new to cycling and need help!

Thanks!

See http://cyclingforums.com/t57407.html or http://chainreaction.com/triples.htm for answers. All you have to do is search.

It really depends on how much hills/mountains you have. If you live South Dakota or Florida, chances are you won't need a triple. But if you live in France, around the Alps, a triple is almost mandatory for all but the very strong climbers. You will see that most if not all (professional) road racers use a double, since it is probably a little less weight and also they might not need it. But, it depends. Typically, cheaper bikes come with triples, while the higher end ones are double, so it is also an investment choice.

Given your location, I'd say go for the triple. The extra weight is minimal. You'll get some comments about it from others riding doubles, until you drop them on the hills.

If you get the double to begin with you'll never miss the triple ring. And you'll be stronger to boot.

You don't want it while racing. Being in the tiny ring up hills makes you very slow. And other racers will look at you as an easy mark. I know that when I was a beginning racer and we saw other gals with triples we set out to smoke 'em in the hills ASAP. Sorry, it's true!