Trouble reaching STI levers from brake hoods

frogleggs

Sep 30, 2007
I am a woman with small hands. My bike has STI levers (Tiagra). I can shift just fine, but braking is a bit of a problem. I can brake pretty easily with my hands in the drops, but I like to keep them on the brake hoods most of the time. When I try to brake from this position, I have a difficult time getting my fingers low enough on the lever to squeeze it with any force.

I searched for info on this before posting, and saw that some people have had success with Specialized slim shims. To me it sounds like these shims just change the angle of the lever, and I don't know if that would help me or not.

I'm a newbie, this is my first road bike. I bought it online and figured I could handle setting it up myself (I'm an engineer and enjoy this sort of thing). So far so good, except for this issue.

you need a pair of these
ST-R600_popup_v1_m56577569830551681.jpg

or a handlebar with a curve designed for users who have small hands.
Deda has such a model, check it out.
http://www.dedaelementi.com/it/dettaglio.asp?articolo=142

frogleggs said:
I can brake pretty easily with my hands in the drops, but I like to keep them on the brake hoods most of the time. When I try to brake from this position, I have a difficult time getting my fingers low enough on the lever to squeeze it with any force.
Shims won't solve that problem, as you've correctly alluded.

I have similarly small hands, and no amount of shimming would make it easier to grab the levers from the hoods. Changing bars won't help either, since its an inherent design problem with the lever that disadvantages small hands.

The only solution I managed to find was to switch to Campag ergos - its much easier to reach the levers from the hoods and drops. Campag levers give you more mechanical advantage, since the pivot is further away from the position that you grab the levers (both from the hoods and drops).