trouble with aero position

Discussion in 'Triathlon' started by su22, Aug 17, 2003.

1. su22

su22 New Member

im only a rookie, and i find it a bit scary being in the aero position-- especially with cars flying past me. :(

ive been road riding for about 6 months, and my bike skills arent great. any tips on how to attain better balance and control?

at the moment im just forcing myself to stay chill, breathe, and try to relax while in tucked in on my aero bars. i have had it set up in the shop, and my seat has been tilted down a bit to accomodate for the position.

any advice would be much appreciated!

Tags:

2. Jkmsg

Jkmsg Guest

su22 <[email protected]> wrote in message news:<[email protected]>...

Unfortunately, there is few tips to gaining better bike handling abilities other than experience.
    The more you ride in the aero position, the more confidence you find.

BTW, never ride in the aero position while in a group (specially when your inexperienced). For
    better balance, leave off the filled water bottle (located on the aero-bars). Finally, the design of
    the bike can make a big difference in handling ability. Certain bikes (commonly called tri-bikes -
    Ex. Cervelo, Felt, etc.) specifically designed to ridden in the aero position handle much better
    than most road bikes converted to an tri-bike.

FWIW Joe M

> im only a rookie, and i find it a bit scary being in the aero position-- especially with cars
    > flying past me. :(
    >
    > ive been road riding for about 6 months, and my bike skills arent great. any tips on how to attain
    > better balance and control?
    >
    > at the moment im just forcing myself to stay chill, breathe, and try to relax while in tucked in
    > on my aero bars. i have had it set up in the shop, and my seat has been tilted down a bit to
    > accomodate for the position.
    >
    > any advice would be much appreciated!

3. Rivermist

Rivermist Guest