Trying to find a clue......

Status
Not open for further replies.
N

Nb

Hello,

I graduated from high school last year, and now I am off to find an apartment. I started adding up
the costs of living alone and I realized what an incredible hassle a car would be to maintain. I
have had previous interest in cycling, but now its become an fiscal opportunity as well as one of
interest. I was looking around for a good primer on bicycles and cycling as a means of
transportation. I can't seem to have too much luck on my own. Can someone please point me in the
right direction? I am really starting to hope to just invest in a really good bike and use it as my
transportation.

TIA, Nick

Hi Nick, Sounds like you've made an excellent decision! See if your local library has the book
"Effective Cycling" by John Forester. If you tell us where you are geographically perhaps someone
from this group can point you to local resources. If your city has a cycling advocacy group you can
find other like minded people, especially if there are bad cycling conditions in your city that you
need to collaboratively try to influence change.

You mention wanting to invest in a "really good bike". If you are cycling for transportation, you
may want to consider theft as a factor in buying a bike. Even with a good lock, if your bike looks
tempting to bike thieves they will be able to get it. Of course its always nice if your job allows
you to bring your bicycle inside the building.

Ideally when looking for an apartment, you can find something that will be close to where you
work, where you "play", and public transit as a bicycle backup. That makes it much easier to live
car-free. And somewhere that allows for good bicycle routes between where you live and places
you'd want to go. If you are cycling in conditions you don't like every day you won't want to keep
it up for long.

Here's a bicycle commuter link for Toronto, Canada - some of it is specific to Toronto but much of