TSS/IF & Weekday training/Weekend Racing

objective

Jul 5, 2005
How does one train during the week while racing on the weekends?

I live in an area where I can race from January through September
and I'd like to know how best to plan weekly workouts based on TSS/IF.
Currently, a typical week for me looks like this:

TSS: 700-1000
IF: .7-.8
Hours: 15-20hrs

I've been led to believe the following:

1] The benefits of periodization are over stated.
2] Doing L4-L6 work year round is good.

This leads me to think that I should slowly increase my IF week-to-week
while keeping my TSS steady. As a result, I'll likely see a decrease in
duration and increased race performance.

I'm not really planning to peak for anything as this is my first year of
racing but, if I was, would that change my weekly workouts other than
simply adding a taper the week before the event?

objective said:

Since you're new to mixing racing with training it's easy to fall into the trap of wanting to rest up for each race. That's too much rest if you really want to improve your fitness as much as possible. So, pick a race (weekend) or two each month and rest a bit for those and don't allow complete rest for the other races. "Train through" those other races. The efforts you get during these races is part of your training, e.g. if you do a 40-minute criterium or 2-hour road race then count the time you're around threshold as part (or all) of your weekly training at that intensity. Count the time above threshold in the race as part of your weekly training at that intensity.

When you get more fit you can train through races and still do okay in those races.

While you are certainly riding hard during races those efforts may prevent you from doing more appropriate training that day or during the next few days.

"Sometimes, racing gets in the way of your training."

objective said: