Tubular Tires vs. clinchers

Discussion in 'Cycling Equipment' started by kranz, Aug 20, 2004.

1. kranz

kranz New Member

I've just bought a used vintage Raleigh Professional from probably around 1980. This is an upgrade for me from the '78 Raleigh Supercourse that I've been riding this season. The bike has tubular tires, Ambrosio rims and campy hubs. I have NO prior experience with tubular tires. I primarily ride "rails to trails" bike paths and don't compete, but I do like to ride fast.

I'm debating about whether or not to keep the sew-ups that came with it, or switching to clinchers. The major issue I see, given the kind of riding I do, is the need to fix a flat many miles from home. My impression is this is a bigger deal with tubulars (need to have a pre-glued spare tire). So I'd appreciate any advice on this topic. If I switch to clinchers, what would I be sacrificing? Or if I try tubulars will I ever want to go back?

thanks,

kranz

Tags:

2. e_guevara

e_guevara New Member

Tire technology today has progressed a lot since the 80's. And right now, there is very little difference between tubulars and clinchers, albeit a small weight difference.

You said it yourself, you may need to change a flat on the road - something that CAN'T BE DONE with tubulars. The glue on sew-ups need to set on the rim and 'pre-gluing' before you ride them is kinda stupid, IMHO.

On the other hand, bringing a spare tube or a patch kit and a set of tire levers is helpful in the event of a flat - just pry it open and change (or patch) the tube.

But do remember, tubulars and clinchers use different rims. One doesn't work with the other.

Cheers

e_guevara

3. j_erhardt

j_erhardt New Member

Bull-crap! You rip the old tire off, and place a new one on. It won't be glued on there as well, but it will get you home.

I say buy a cheap tire as a spare and try it out.

JohnE

4. JohnO

JohnO New Member