Tubulars with Tufo tape!?

macaj

Nov 6, 2007
im new to using tubulars on my bike and was wondering whether or not i could use Tufo tape on a tubular tyre that already has glue on it? (the rims have no glue on them) Thanks in advance

macaj said:
im new to using tubulars on my bike and was wondering whether or not i could use Tufo tape on a tubular tyre that already has glue on it? (the rims have no glue on them) Thanks in advance

Nope.

I guess you've gotten an authoritative reply so I'll hijack your thread!

I haven't used tubulars for about 15 years. I've just ordered a set of carbon tubulars and am thinking, is gluing better or tape? Any opinions?

--brett

sideshow_bob said:
I guess you've gotten an authoritative reply so I'll hijack your thread!

I haven't used tubulars for about 15 years. I've just ordered a set of carbon tubulars and am thinking, is gluing better or tape? Any opinions?

--brett

That's a religious question. Personally, I'm a glue guy: I have faith in it, and applyin' it a small, poorly ventilated room makes me feel good. I do hear that Tufo Extreme tape does hold quite well but is a ***** to get off. It can also ruin certain tubulars by violating the basetape if you pull the tubie off. Here in Arizona, Tufo folks have to use Extreme because the regular Tufo tape loses its grip in the heat. FWIW, I just mounted a set of Tufo S-22s to my test set of LEW VT-1 wheels. So far, I'm very unimpressed by the Tufo tires: in my hand they're certainly not as supple as the Vittorias I like. In fact, in my hand the Tufos feel a lot like really cheap garden hose. They weren't my choice. I didn't have any tubulars left around the house, and the Tufos were what LEW sent with the wheels.

I also like glue because it allows you to get a bond all the way out to the edge of the tire bed. That just makes me feel a bit better when descending the mountains.

alienator said: