tyres built for speeeeed

bobbyOCR

Aug 31, 2005
Now, I have accepted that conti's attack/force and GP 4 seasons have very **** RR, which isn't great, cause they are extremely uncomfortable.

Now, I want to find a very quick set of tyres (to be run with latex tubes) and have heard a few suggestions including Veloflex Corsa, Vittoria Open Corsa Evo-CX, the bloody ubiquitous Pro2Race and conti GP 4000.

These are to be used purely in races, and I have no experience with how puncture-resistant any of these are (My current tyres, GP 4 seasons, seem to be immune to punctures. I still have 2 spare and I have clocked nearly 16000km on my current set) and would love to hear of any experiences.

sogood said:
Bobby, have you checked out Conti GP4000S?

http://www.conti-online.com/generator/www/de/en/continental/bicycle/themes/tires/race/gp4000s/gp4000s_en.html

PBK already has it listed, just no stock yet. :D
or

Michelin Pro 2 Race "Special Edition" these are not the ordinary version
http://www.highonbikes.com/product.asp?P_ID=547&strPageHistory=search&strKeywords=michelin&numPageStartPosition=1&strSearchCriteria=any&PT_ID=all
according to michelin 30% more grip with a significantly lower rolling resistance.
I've done about 3000k without any puctures, so far

or

Zipp Tangente
http://www.zipp.com/OnlineStore/Tires/tabid/55/CategoryID/1/List/1/Level/1/ProductID/117/Default.aspx?SortField=ProductName%2cProductName

I've tried both of these tires with Vittoria latex tubes (these are lighter than the Michelin latex), the Zipp are probably the fastest, but the Michelin
are much more comfortable so I prefer them.

Thanks for the suggestion of the GP4000 S, they look extremely similar to Schwalbe's Ultremo. I know about the Pro2Race SE, but they don't appeal that much. I hate the blue, and my bike currently has a black/yellow/green/phonak-y colour scheme developing. The Zipp tyres are just very expensive vittorias.