ultegra sl vs dura-ace decision

zaku

Jun 23, 2004
I'm currently riding a 9 speed 105 group and looking for an upgrade.

i'm hesitating on these two groups:
dura-ace 7800 (used)
ultegra SL (new)

the dura ace group is about 100$ more expensive that i can get compared to a new ultegra SL group.

My question is the new ultegra SL same as the dura-ace 7800 since the SL are lighter than the normal ultegra?
and any oppinions, feedback or suggestions about especially the ultegra SL will be appreciated!

hello I dont have much experience with either groups but I just bought my first high end bike a few months back and to keep price in check as it was new the builder recommended I go with the ultegra sl group. He said you wouldn't notice much of a difference in performance. Bottom line is it is a very nice group but DA is Shimano's current flagship group which means it's slightly lighter and allegedly smoother. The latter part I don't believe but like I said I have limited experience. I believe from what I read that the biggest wieght difference is in the crankset. I don't know about you but I'm a bit of a neat freak especially with nice expensive stuff. I like to keep it clean and scratch free. For example my big gripe with Ultegra SL is the grey finsh. It looks great but if the chain falls off from over shooting the big crank gear like mine has done a couple times in the 300 miles of using it you will most certainly scratch,nick the finish. If your like me you probably will be slightly annoyed and there's really nothing you can do short of polishing the whole finish off if you don't like seeing the scratch. At least with the polished aluminum finish of DA it would be a lot easier to get happy with the sandpaper, polishing cloth and rouge to get rid of unsightly marks. Then again **** happens and the only trailer queens are the ones that don't get used so you may want to get Ultegra sl since it will be brand new.

zaku said:

dura-ace 7800 (used)
ultegra SL (new)