under $1000 road bike - cannondale or specialized?

jakalapa

Jun 4, 2010
Help me out here peeps - just test rode allez sport and cadd 8. The Specialized felt a bit more comfy to me - maybe better fit. I like the fact the Cannondale is made in USA. Can you guys help me sort out the component maze. I'm a newbie to road bikes. I ride about 100 miles a week on a trek 7.2 fx. I'm looking for some faster/farther riding. Thanks in advance!

The CAAD8 (and CAAD9) have a geometry that is a bit more race-oriented than the Allez, but not too much different. (If you think you'd like an even more upright position than even the Allez, Specialized also makes the Secteur line. You can somewhat view the Allez as the aluminum version of a Tarmac, whereas the Sectuer is the aluminum version of a Roubaix.

(Cannondale's more relaxed geometry is the Synapse line).

You might find that with comparable component equipages the Cannondale bikes are slightly less money than the Specialized bikes, but generally speaking the equipages will be very similar across brands, at comparable price points.

In addition to the CAAD being somewhat racier than the Allez, I think you will find that it is a bit lighter, also. But in the end, the bike that feels better will be a better choice.

It's also true that for a test ride you are only going to get a couple of adjustments made to "fit" the bike to you, even if they have the right frame size (i.e., probably just setting the seat height roughly right), whereas a real fitting on a purchased bike will also look at saddle fore-aft position, saddle tilt, possible stem adjustments, etc. So you might not want to reject a bike just because the fit isn't quite right during the test ride.

As for components, I am guessing that both are Shimano 105/Tiagra blends? Probably both are using "other brand" brakes. Not to tell you things that you already know, but the Shimano "pecking order" from cheapest to best is:

2200, Sora, Tiagra, 105, Ultegra, Dura-Ace.