Unfit...out of shape...uninspired

worldtourjon

Apr 7, 2010
Hi guys
I'm new here (and to this forum format etc.) but am looking for some training advice. I love being out on the bike however I'd put myself on the bottom rung of experience. I used to go out sometimes daily and cycle for an hour or so 20-60 miles a day just to mess around and get fit.

Due to many different factors the bike has been shelved for well over a year but with summer approaching I want to get back and get fit. I'd say I'm probably about 3 stone overweight (given im 5' 8" and about 13 stone you can imagine) I used to play rugby so I'm not small up top but thats very quickly been replaced by nothing but lard!! I digress...

I'm looking to get back onto the bike and if I was to go back to my previous method of just getting up and going out on the bike it would not work for me with my lifestyle (i used to be a student with endless free days) or in terms of a routine as obviously I never really took it up previously, therefore never kept going.

I work pretty much 9-5 or 8-4 - 5 days a week. Takes about an hour to get home and there are no showering facilities in or near work which means I can only cycle after work and can't cycle into work. What kind of traning pattern would you lot suggest? I'm happy to go intensivley I'm still quite fit (still run and always maintain a good level of natural fitness) but with time constraints I really do wonder how and when people fit the time in. I've tried getting up early to run which I don't mind, but too early and there's no light which for running I can get away with but biking I can't imagine is so enjoyable. I really want to get fit this summer (or starting today really) but I'm not sure how to go about doing it because I really want to get into a routine.