Upgrading Deraileurs, Shifters & Cassettes

mvp

Aug 31, 2006
I'm totally new to road biking, im just wondering how hard/easy it is to upgrade the cassette, shifters and deraileurs? Can I upgrade each of those compoenents individually or do i have to match them all and buy them together?

mvp said:
I'm totally new to road biking, im just wondering how hard/easy it is to upgrade the cassette, shifters and deraileurs? Can I upgrade each of those compoenents individually or do i have to match them all and buy them together?
It depends what you have. If you stay with the same company, swapping out is easy enough, just make sure it's 9 speed for 9 speed or 10 for 10. The top three groups for Campy (Record, Chorus, Centaur) and Shimano (Dura Ace, Ultegra and 105) are funtionally the same. and interchangeable. I have a bike that's a combo Record, Chorus and Centaur.

PeterF said:
It depends what you have. If you stay with the same company, swapping out is easy enough, just make sure it's 9 speed for 9 speed or 10 for 10. The top three groups for Campy (Record, Chorus, Centaur) and Shimano (Dura Ace, Ultegra and 105) are funtionally the same.
Okay, well i have shimano Sora 8 sp casssette & rear derail, sora shifters & sora front derail with 3 sp crank.

can i upgrade certain individual components? Ie. if i want to improve the quality of shifting, or get more gears, what length will i have to go through to replace components?

mvp said:
Okay, well i have shimano Sora 8 sp casssette & rear derail, sora shifters & sora front derail with 3 sp crank.

can i upgrade certain individual components? Ie. if i want to improve the quality of shifting, or get more gears, what length will i have to go through to replace components?