Upgrading my bike

ericlow10

Jun 28, 2013
Hello all, I am pretty new to cycling and I have an Allez elite bike. I have been thinking about buying a new bike but unsure if I might be better off just upgrading my wheels. I use the bike probably 3 times a week averaging 20 - 40 miles per ride and also commute to work on it 10 miles round trip. Can anyone give some advice on what is the best way to invest my cash. Thanks

How old is your bike? What components does it currently have? What do think or want to upgrade?

What year is your bike? I bought an Allez Elite this year... I say modify. So far I have upgraded to RS80 wheels (feels like a new bike), 105 pedals, and an Ultegra 6700 cassette. Over the winter I'm going to find a cheap steel frame to swap all the Tiagra components and heavy FSA crank onto so I can go full Ultegra on the Allez.

I thought about carbon for a long time but opted for the Allez just incase I got cold feet about cycling... But I love every minute and the Allez is just way to beautiful to ditch for carbon, so I'm sticking with it.

Pictured with stock wheels.

It is a 2011 Allez elite. I have Keo classic pedals on it. Was considering the wheels to be the main place to upgrade. I just seem to go backwards when the gradient increases. I also really like the way the bike feels.

Correct me if I'm wrong, but isn't that model a 9 speed with a 12-25 in the back? That's a +10kg bike... That's a lot of weight to be pushing up a hill with a 25 in the back.

Some lighter wheels and a bigger back gear will do wonders on the climbs. I shaved almost 850 grams switching to the RS80 wheels... and my new 12-30 cassette makes the hills in BC much easier.

It's very likely that the new RS80 wheels contributed only in a small way to making hills easier for you as that 850g difference is only a small percentage of the overall bike/rider weight. But that doesn't mean that changing wheels was a bad idea