Upper Body Strength

TransPhattyAcid

Mar 18, 2015
Hi All,

First a little background so you know where I'm coming from: I'm 42 and pretty out of shape from not training all winter. I don't race, but I do love to do century rides. I've done 2 over the last couple of years to raise money for something like Team In Training. I recently started trying to get back in shape so I started riding the stationary bike and started a yoga class to help with stability and upper body.

Here's the problem: I have weak shoulders and generally weak upper body strength. I'm currently overcoming a shoulder injury I got doing yoga. It's not a bad injury and it should be fine with some physical therapy and stretching, but what I'm wondering is, what do people do for upper body and core strength? What exercises or stretches can you recommend? I hurt myself doing something that I thought would help get me stronger (yoga) so wondering what has worked for you? Maybe it's just spending more time on the bike? Free weights? Are there any online resources or websites you could point me to? Now that it's warmer, I know I need to get out of the gym and get back on the bike, but any suggestions for upper body and shoulders would be greatly appreciated.

Thanks!

Most people generally just ride the bike.

If you have specific issues that need addressing in the gym or doing floor exercises then it's not really going to hurt you on the bike. Same with core work - doing it won't hurt the bike riding and provides a change. The only way it will hurt your riding is if you do this instead of rather in addition too riding.