USA categories and racing - questions from Australia

Roadie_scum

Nov 14, 2003
Hey guys and gals,

I'm heading stateside (norcal) next year for a while and had a couple of queries about road racing there. First up, does anyone know if it's possible to get a category upgrade from O/S results? I have plenty of racing experience in Australia in A and B grades, national road series, inter-varsity, and a couple of decent results in most of those categories except NRS (where a puncture with no spares car in sight and a hunger flat from poor planning combined to rob me of a finish in the top half of the field). I've read about cat's, starting as a 5 and moving up. I suppose I'd be happy to start low and work my way up - should happen quite quickly if I'm not at the level I should be at. But I'm thinking it's not going to be good racing for me and it's not fair to other low cat riders to rock up and blitz newbies. Can I apply to the USCF to give me a higher Cat licence using my results here? Judging from my w/kg and the results of guys I know from here who've raced in the US, I'm thinking I'd be decent in the 2's or good in the 3's, or maybe finishing in the 1's if I'm on good form or its a race that suits me.

Second up, what's the prize money like over there. Here club races pay all grades, A grade to 4th or 6th, B to 4th and C-E down to 3rd. Money depends on field size, except for 'opens' - bigger races which sometimes pay to 20th and have $1000 plus for 1st (but are damn near impossible to win). Club races would typically pay between $50 and $200 for first in A grade. Money split between grades something like 40-30-20-7-3. If I start off racing low grades am I gonna clean up some cash?