Use PT for an Ironman?

samtheclip

Sep 22, 2003
OK, I am new to all of this. I was just wondering if I should consider my PT for an Ironman event? I have 2 sets of rims race/training. My training rims are Mavic Kyserium Elites. I race with Zip 909's (disc) or a 404 rear. I wasn't sure which to mount the PT too. I was conidering the 404 and was thinking maybe I should use it for training as well. Then, come race day if I dont use the disc I could use the 404? Sound silly? OR should I put it on the Mavic and don't worry about using it in the Ironman? Any thoughts would greatly be appreciated.

Thanks!

samtheclip said:
OK, I am new to all of this. I was just wondering if I should consider my PT for an Ironman event? I have 2 sets of rims race/training. My training rims are Mavic Kyserium Elites. I race with Zip 909's (disc) or a 404 rear. I wasn't sure which to mount the PT too. I was conidering the 404 and was thinking maybe I should use it for training as well. Then, come race day if I dont use the disc I could use the 404? Sound silly? OR should I put it on the Mavic and don't worry about using it in the Ironman? Any thoughts would greatly be appreciated.

Thanks!
Well, the PT can be usefull during the race. More or less depending on the course type, and on your experience doing this type of event.

Yesterday I was riding with a pal of mine. He went to do an IM race. Was happy about his bike split, but walked half of the marathon for a total time over 11hr. Problem? Pacing during the bike leg.

If you don't have a lot of experience doing >10hr events, big chances are that you might push too hard on the bike. Then a PT can be a very usefull tool. Also, if the course is difficult (such as Lake placid for instance), then you'll have more ease riding at a constant power (which should definitely be the best strategy) with a power meter.