V Shaped Power Profile

Discussion in 'Power Training' started by Russ968, Jun 22, 2006.

1. Russ968

Russ968 Banned

I've been riding for 12 months starting from somewhere below an untrained state (read fat guy on the couch) and training more seriously for the past 3 months. I had a local coach test my FTP in March with a 200watt result. None of my power numbers are anything to write home about and I felt that my FTP was a real weakness. Since that test interval days have 2x10, 3x10, 4x10 or 2x20 with 10 minute intervals at 105% FTP being the norm. Since getting a PT, gathering some data and performing some tests I get the following power profile.

5-sec 1225w = 15.71w/kg
    1-min 490w = 6.28w/kg
    5-min 267w = 3.42w/kg
    FTP 235w = 2.95w/kg

I weigh 78kg down from 93kg with 74kg being the near term goal.

3 Questions:
    1. Am I interpreting the Power Profile correctly?

2. Hunter/Coggan suggest this V shape is "
    an unlikely combination...Should such a pattern be observed, care should be taken to assure that the values being used are truly representative of the athlete's abilities, and to be sure that the pattern isn't simply being misinterpreted ." Given this is an actual PP what might one conclude about weaknesses it represents other than all the numbers need improvement particularly 1 min power. Poor or still insufficiently trained VO2max or ATP Systems? Other?

3. Would an adjusted/augmented interval training plan focused on 1 to 5 minute intervals improve the weakness suggested above.

Thanks in advance,

Russ

Tags:

2. peterpen

peterpen New Member

Have you ever done a flat-out 1 minute effort or are you just pulling that figure from various workouts? The slope/ shape of your power profile line will be significanly influenced by that.

From a completely rested state, go out, warm up, and then hammer for one minute - you should either vomit or pass out at the end of the minute. Then look at your numbers again.