various questions about appropriate torques

Discussion in 'Cycling Equipment' started by Ant, Jun 4, 2003.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. Ant

Ant Guest

in the general scheme of things, im a bike mech newbie, so take this with a grain of salt, and help
    me see the light:

ive just taken a job at a bike store, and am in the slow process of learning how They put bikes
    together, not how I put bikes together. i always tightened my fasteners the same, as far as i can
    tell, and have never had a problem. it seems that the bike shop wants everything
    super-almost-stripped tight. for instance, i always cinched down my brake pads with an allen wrench,
    and left it at that. they are on there pretty tight. however, one fellow came over and using both
    hands wrenched each one out of line. he was trying pretty hard. he said if you can move it with your
    hands, its not tight enough. i really dont see the pads ever seeing anything near this type of
    force. what gives?

also, stem wedges. i always cranked 'em down, but if i really wrenched the bars with some
    serious power, i could move the handlebar. they dont like this idea. same with every other
    fastener, it seems.

is this really necessary? i dont have a torque wrench to check myself, but i have to crank like
    nobody's business to get things as tight as they want them, and it seems like overkill, as well as
    asking for stripped threads.

curious, anthony

Tags:

2. ant <[email protected]> wrote:
    >also, stem wedges. i always cranked 'em down, but if i really wrenched the bars with some
    >serious power, i could move the handlebar. they dont like this idea. same with every other
    >fastener, it seems.

You are right and they are wrong. In an accident, your guts may collide with the end of the bars.
    Given a choice between the bars twisting or your liver giving way...
    --
    David Damerell <[email protected]> flcl?

3. Matt Locker

Matt Locker Guest