Velonews: Ewan Nearly Beats €idol’ Cavendish In Tour Of Turkey Opener

articlebot

Jan 3, 2005
2-2015-Tour-of-Turkey-stage-1-320x213.jpg
The opening stage at the Tour of Turkey ended in a mass gallop to the line. Photo: Tim De Waele | TDWsport.com
ALANYA, Turkey (VN) — It was a near miss for Australian Caleb Ewan (Orica-GreenEdge), who finished less than half a wheel from upsetting his childhood hero Mark Cavendish in their debut duel on the 145-kilometer opening stage of the Tour of Turkey in Alanya Sunday.
The 20-year-old neo-pro told VeloNews prior to the start that racing his long-time idol was a bit surreal.
“I’ve raced guys like [André] Greipel and [Marcel] Kittel before, but this is my first time to race Cav,” said Ewan, who finished third to the pair at the People’s Choice Classic prior to the Santos Tour Down Under last year. “He was like an idol for me growing up, so to be here racing against him is pretty exciting, but obviously I’m here to try to beat him.”
And nearly beat him he did, coming within inches of crossing the line first.
After a five-man break launched an attack within the first 10km and extended its lead to more than 3:35, the peloton led by Lotto-Soudal, Etixx-Quick-Step, and Torku SekerSpor closed the gap before Ewan found himself joined by teammates Jens Mouris, Magnus Cort, and Adam Blythe on the front with 4km to go.
Unfortunately for Ewan, that’s when things began to unravel a bit.
“Just before we turned onto the main road we were a bit back and it was really hectic with lots of close calls,” Ewan told VeloNews after the stage. “I just said to the guys we will go to the front and if we run out of guys, Adam knows what he’s doing so he can drop back and slot in somewhere, as I felt it was better to be there than lost throughout the bunch.
“But we ended up losing each other anyway.”
According to the 2014 UCI under-23 road worlds silver medalist, the finish was a mad scramble with riders recklessly jockeying for position with 2km to go.